Sunday, January 11, 2004

Prominent Talas

  • Adi Tala: It has eight counts per cycle. It is rendered with a beat and three finger counts followed by two identical sets of a beat and a wave. (In technical terms, this is nothing but Chaturasra jati Triputa tala, i.e., Chaturasra laghu and 2 drutams)
  • Roopaka Tala: Six counts but only 3 units are rendered externally. (An anudrutam and a drutam)
  • Misra Chapu: Seven units. (Three beats in the ratio of 3:2:2)
  • Khanda Chapu: Five units. (Three beats in the ratio of 2:1:2)
  • No comments: